What’s your score?

Did you know according to the Oxford American Writers Dictionary there are 57 different types of meat consumed in the States?  These aren’t cuts of meat, these are the actual culinary terms for what you can find on your menu based on your region and local state laws. Some are common, some of them are country (yeehaw country), and most I had to look up in the dictionary. Turns out I’ve tried 16 of them. What’s your score?

alligator– alligator gumbo with spicy andouille sausage.

antelope

armadillo

bear

beaver

beefalo- a hybrid animal that is 3/8 to 3/32 buffalo, the remaining genetic component being domestic cow, bred for disease resistance and for meat with low fat content.

bison– bison burgers from Kentucky Bison Company.

boar

buffalo- The buffalo is generally found in Africa and Asia. They have short, glossy coats but have longer horns. Bison on the other hand is found in North America and typically has a shaggy coat.

caiman- any of several tropical American crocodilians of the genus Caiman. And WTF is a crocodilian?  “Crocodilians”  includes the alligator, caiman, crocodile, and gharial families.

capon- a cockerel castrated to improve the flesh for use as food.

caribou- any of several large, North American deer, related to the reindeer of the Old World.

cervena- high quality cervena venison is from New Zealand – a superb game meat.

chicken– my favorite being split chicken breasts with lime, garlic, olive oil, kosher salt, rosemary and sage.  400 degrees for 40.

cornish hen– my favorite birthday dinner.

duck– my absolute favorite meat particularly with duck fat roasted potatoes.

elk

emu- an indie rocker? or the largest bird native to Australia and the only extant member of the genus Dromaius.

fowlany of several other, usually gallinaceous, birds that are barnyard, domesticated, or wild, as the duck, turkey, or pheasant. If this is the case, I’ve had it.

frog legs– I had a foodie mommy when I was little.

game– I’m guessing game and fowl were all the little random critters that didn’t have their own name. Regardless I’m counting it!

goat- not personally but I saw my coworker eat goat at Z’s Fusion.

goose

grouse- the definition is too complicated but I found it interesting that their legs are feathered to the toes, and in winter the toes too have feathers or small scales on the sides.

That is one crazy looking chicken!!

guinea fowl- is an African bird that spends the majority of its time digging to find scrumptious insects and worms. (And looking fly).

The flashiest of the fowls.

hare- hares are wild rabbits who are generally faster, have longer ears, and bigger feet.  They also tend to have black markings on them setting them apart from the domestic rabbit. 

kangaroo– at an Australian restaurant in burger form.

kid- that makes me sad.

lamb– particularly in lollipop form.

llama

moose

muscovy duck- is a large duck which is native to Mexico and Central and South America.

musk ox- is an Arctic mammal, noted for its thick coat and for the strong odor emitted by males.

muskrat- is a semi-aquatic rodent native to North America.

mutton- a mature sheep.

ostrich– I tried it at an Australian restaurant in burger form.

partridge

pheasant

pigeon- common in some Moroccan restaurants in the dish bastila (which is spiced chicken or pigeon with eggs, almonds, and saffron, wrapped in phyllo-like pastry). But you’re not allowed to eat city pigeons.

pork– have you seen my Wilber’s Sundae post?

poultry– why doesn’t this count as chicken? or fowl?

poussin- a young chicken less then 28 days old.

pullet- female chickens over a year old are known as hens, and younger females are pullets.

rabbit– for Easter. Foodie mommy with a sense of humor.

raccoon

rattlesnake

snail

squab- is a young domestic pigeon commonly served in French restaurants.

squirrel

turkey– Thanksgiving is great.

turtle

veal– I have but for personal reasons I no longer eat.

venison- surprisingly not! But I hear it’s great in jerky form.

wild boar

wild turkey- Thanksgiving turkey with a nose ring?

wood pigeon- a member of both the dove and pigeon families.  There’s a lot more pigeon consumption then I expected.

yak- is a long-haired bovine found throughout the Himalayan region of south Central Asia, the Tibetan Plateau and as far north as Mongolia and Russia.

Post your exotic eats and your meat score!

6 thoughts on “What’s your score?

  1. Mark B says:

    I have tried 27 of these delicious animals, 27 of which I would eat again.

  2. Ryan Jones says:

    20…and the only one that was not delicious was the goat..tasted like the sole of my shoe.

  3. k.wantland@insightbb.com says:

    22–but I am also quite positive there are some things I’ve eaten during international travel that I’ve yet to identify.

  4. juli says:

    Im a 27- in addition to your selections I have also consumed antelope, buffalo, goat (in Jamaica and it was an awesome stew) goose, guinea fowl, kid, mutton, pheasant, snail,venison (actually walked face first into a draining deer in a garage…save that for another story) and boar. Antelope is definitely a must try- so lean and tender!!! I believe mine was paired with a cherry reduction…mmmmmmm meat!!!

  5. Kate says:

    I’m at a measly 5 LOL
    -duck
    -turkey
    -chicken
    -lamb
    -pork

  6. […] Chef Matt Fogarty.  I particularly want to dig into the First Things First (and cross elk off my meat list), the Crepes Jean Girard, the A-Game, and the French Kiss smothered in beer […]

Leave a Reply

