TRUCKtoberfest

The wonderful explosion of food trucks in Louisville is truly remarkable.  Not only are these guys and gals serving up delicious bites, but the creativity of these folks is phenomenal.  If you have yet to sample these culinary creations for yourself there is a fantastic event called TRUCKtoberfest (get it?!) coming up next Friday October 28th from 5 pm to 9 pm, at the patio directly behind the Henry Clay building at 324 West Chestnut Street.

Start the Halloween weekend off right with live music and Louisville’s best street food vendors all in one spot.  El Rumbon, Holy Mole, Lil Cheezers, Red’s Comfort Foods and San Diego Sandwich Works will all be serving up whatever you are craving.  Of course you will need something to wash down all that delicious grub so there will be a cash bar offering up your favorite beer, wine and soft drinks.  Don’t worry about Mother Nature because the space is fully covered so there is no excuse not to come downtown and try some of the best local food Louisville has to offer.

That’s a good enough pitch for me! Besides, I have a softness in my heart for Holy Mole.  I got to sample a yummy pork chorizo not too long ago and it made me so sad… mainly because I waited in the longest line to get one and I should have gotten two! The slightly spicy pork chorizo is fresh from local Stone Cross Farms, seasoned, ground and served with avocado salsa on 6 inch tortillas.  I washed it down with Mexican Coca Cola, which is a lot more natural tasting due to the lack of fructose corn syrup.  The colors alone of the tortilla had me convinced!

You had me at pork chorizo.

I’m really looking forward to trying the other food trucks.  And I may even come in costume.  If you see a honey badger, that’s me.

Leave a Reply

